Nominations accepted until Oct 31st for 2010 Retrovirology Prize

The Retrovirology Prize alternates yearly between recognizing a non-HIV retrovirologist (2009 and odd years) and an HIV retrovirologist (2010 and even years). There can be some discretion on this guideline, exercised from time-to-time by the selection committee. Any individual can initiate a nomination of others or self-nominate. A nomination includes a statement (1000 words or less) of the nominee’s significant contributions to retrovirus research, a curriculum vitae of the nominee, and a statement by the nominator that the nominee has agreed to be nominated. The selection committee consists of the Editors of Retrovirology (currently, M. Benkirane, B. Berkhout, M. Fujii, K.T. Jeang, M. Lairmore, A. Lever, A. Fassati and M. Wainberg). All nominations submitted to the selection committee must be communicated through an Editorial Board member of Retrovirology. Hence, an individuals who is not an Editorial board member but who wishes to make a nomination should seek out a Retrovirology Editorial board member to communicate his/her information to the selection committee. A list of current Editorial Board members can be found at the Retrovirology website Within the stipulated age limits (age 45 to 60), all Retrovirology Editors and Editorial Board members are eligible to be nominated with the exception of the Editor-in-Chief who will administer the final selection.

For 2010, nominations will be accepted until October 31th. All members of the retrovirology community are encouraged to participate in this process for recognizing a deserving colleague.  Inquires may be directed to

View the latest posts on the On Biology homepage