BioMed Central's 5th Annual Research Awards, and the winners are…


The winners of our 5th Annual Research Awards were announced last night at ZSL London Zoo, Regent’s Park, London, UK. Celebrating the very best research that has been made available by open access publishing, more than 120 guests attended the prestigious ceremony including leading researchers, shortlisted authors and science journalists from around the world. The winners were selected from 214 BioMed Central journals which published more than 17,000 peer-reviewed open access articles over the last 12 months. 

Congratulations to all our winners.


Biology Award, in association with Roche 

Roberto Danovaro, Polytechnic University of Marche, Italy

The first metazoa living in permanently anoxic conditionsBMC Biology 2010, 8:30 (6 April 2010)

Medicine Award

Christina Jones, University of Liverpool, UK

Intensive care diaries reduce new onset post traumatic stress disorder following critical illness: a randomised, controlled trialCritical Care 2010, 14:R168 (15 September 2010)


Open Data Award, sponsored by Microsoft Research

Tommi Nyman, University of Eastern Finland, Finland

How common is ecological speciation in plant-feeding insects? A ‘Higher’ Nematinae perspective,BMC Evolutionary Biology 2010, 10:266 (1 September 2010)

Case Report of the Year

Michael J Keogh, Lincoln County Hospital, UK

Statin-associated weakness in myasthenia gravis: a case report, Journal of Medical Case Reports2010, 4:61 (20 February 2010)


Editor of the Year 

Jean Louis Vincent, Critical Care


Open Access Advocate of the Year

Andrew Waller, Open Access Librarian, University of Calgary



View the latest posts on the Research in progress blog homepage