Shortlist announced for BioMed Central’s 5th annual Research Awards


 Our annual Research Awards recognize the excellence in research published across our journals in the past year. 

Shortlists for the Biology, Medicine and Open Data Award’s have now been announce:

Biology Award 

Sir Tim Hunt, Principal Scientist at Cancer Research UK, Prof Laurence Hurst, of University of Bath and Michaela Torkar, Editorial Director at BioMed Central nominated the following:

• The first metazoa living in permanently anoxic conditions, BMC Biology 2010, 8:30 
• Evolution of an adenocarcinoma in response to selection by targeted kinase inhibitors, Genome Biology 2010, 11:R82
• A comprehensive fate map by intracellular injection of identified blastomeres in the marine polychaete Capitella teleta, EvoDevo 2010, 1:8
• What the hyena’s laugh tells: Sex, age, dominance and individual signature in the giggling call of Crocuta crocuta, BMC Ecology 2010, 10:9 
• The nucleotide addition cycle of RNA polymerase is controlled by two molecular hinges in the Bridge Helix domain, BMC Biology 2010, 8:134

Medicine Award

Selected by Richard Smith, United Health Group and former Editor of the BMJ, Dr Mike Clarke, Director of the UK Cochrane Centre and Dr Jigisha Patel, Medical Editor (BMC Series) at BioMed Central, the nominations are:

• Exercise increases interleukin-10 levels both intraarticularly and peri-synovially in patientswith knee osteoarthritis: a randomized controlled trial, Arthritis Research & Therapy 2010, 12:R126
• Communication, perception and behaviour during a natural disaster involving a ‘Do Not Drink’ and a subsequent ‘Boil Water’ notice: a postal questionnaire study, BMC Public Health 2010, 10:641
• The Manchester Color Wheel: development of a novel way of identifying color choice and its validation in healthy, anxious and depressed individuals, BMC Medical Research Methodology 2010, 10:12
• Intensive care diaries reduce new onset post traumatic stress disorder following critical illness: a randomised, controlled trial, Critical Care 2010, 14:R168

Open Data Award

Peter Murray-Rust of the Murray-Rust Group, Cambridge, John Wilbanks of Creative Commons, Open Access advocate Cameron Neylon, Alex Wade and Lee Dirks of Microsoft Research (who are sponsoring the Open Data Award), Rufus Pollock of OKF and Matthew Cockerill, Managing Director, and Iain Hrynaszkiewicz, Journal Publisher at BioMed Central, selected the following nominations:

• An ANOCEF genomic and transcriptomic microarray study of the response to radiotherapy or to alkylating first-line chemotherapy in glioblastoma patients, Molecular Cancer 2010, 9:234 
• Phenotypic and molecular characterization of the claudin-low intrinsic subtype of breast cancer, Breast Cancer Research 2010, 12:R68
• Data and programming code from the studies on the learning curve for radical prostatectomy, BMC Research Notes 2010, 3:234
• aeGEPUCI: a database of gene expression in the dengue vector mosquito, Aedes aegypti, BMC Research Notes 2010, 3:248
• How common is ecological speciation in plant-feeding insects? A ‘Higher’ Nematinae perspective, BMC Evolutionary Biology 2010, 10:266
• Development and analysis of an in vivo-compatible metabolic network of Mycobacterium tuberculosis, BMC Systems Biology 2010, 4:160

The winning articles will be announced at a ceremony held in London, UK on 5th May. Awards for Case Report of the Year and Editor of the Year will also be presented.